Founding Members

On January 25, 1967, Fairbanks Native Association was incorporated as a nonprofit under the laws of the State of Alaska, naming a five member board of Ralph Perdue, Morris Thompson, Margie Wright, John Sackett and Max Huhndorf. Today, FNA has a nine member board and an elder adviser, whom are elected by our Alaska Native/American Indian membership at our annual meeting. True for then and now, FNA is a powerful and influential Native American voice in Alaska. Over the years our organization has changed public policies that were discriminatory to our people and our programs have helped countless people find new jobs, maintain sobriety, celebrate their culture, and receive an education.

As FNA continues to build a stronger community, we will hold true to our mission “to improve the quality of life for individuals and families by promoting justice, healing and wellness in our community.”